Buyer’s guide

The best invoicing software for gas engineers, compared.

Eight apps gas engineers invoice with, compared on what each one publishes: the price, which plan invoices, how a customer pays by card, the card fee and the accounts sync. Gas-first apps raise the invoice from the certificate; Xero is the accounts alone. We build Manifold, so it comes last.

How do the eight compare on price and getting paid?

Prices run from a free plan for 30 jobs a month to £44 per user a month. Every app here sends invoices; they differ on whether the customer can pay by card from the invoice, and on which plan syncs to your accounts. Each price is shown the way its vendor states VAT.

As published on each vendor’s own site, 1 October 2026
SoftwarePublished priceInvoicingCard paymentsAccounts sync
Gas Engineer Software£23 per user a month for the plan with invoicing in its pricing FAQ (its calculator shows £25 billed monthly), plus VATOn its middle and top plans; the entry plan is certificates and jobsNot stated. Invoices carry a Crezco open banking link and QR code, a flat £1 per invoiceXero, QuickBooks and Sage on its top plan, £30 per user a month
Gas Certificate App£20 per user a month, or £216 a year, plus VATIncluded: one plan with no feature tiersNot stated: invoices are marked paid or unpaidA direct QuickBooks connection; an export for Xero
Checker£10.99, £19.99 or £25.99 a month per account, plus VATEvery planA Zettle card reader on every plan (Zettle's fees), and a Stripe pay-now link in beta on the web appXero, QuickBooks and Sage, two-way; its pricing table puts them on the two higher plans
Tradify£34, £37 or £44 per user a month (VAT not stated)Every plan, with online card paymentsTradify Credit Card Payments: 20p plus 1.7% on standard cards, VAT includedXero, Sage and QuickBooks Online on every plan
Powered Now£28 a month for one user, or £32 or £40 per user a month, plus VAT; two months free on yearly billingEvery plan, with payment linksSumUp, by payment link or a mobile card reader; fee not statedXero and QuickBooks Online on the two per-user plans
ServiceM8Free for 30 jobs a month, then £25, £59, £119 or £269 a month by job volume, unlimited users, plus VATEvery plan, the free one includedServiceM8 Pay, powered by Stripe: 1.70% plus 20p on standard UK cards; Tap to Pay on iPhoneXero, QuickBooks Online and MYOB on every plan
Xero£7 if not VAT registered, otherwise £18, £39, £55 or £70 a month, plus VAT; 90% off the first 6 months for new customers10 invoices on the £7 plan and 20 on the £18 plan (period not stated); no limit stated above thatStripe: 1.5% plus 20p on standard UK cards, plus VAT; GoCardless for direct debitIt is the accounts package
Manifoldour product£15, £20 or £25 per user a month, plus VAT, billed monthlyEvery plan: the invoice is raised from the jobA card payment request against a quote, into your own Stripe account, on Growth and aboveXero, QuickBooks Online and Sage on Growth and above

What does it cost to take a card payment?

About 1.5% to 1.7% plus 20p on a standard UK card, where the vendor publishes a rate. On a £90 service that is roughly £1.55 to £1.73. Premium and business cards cost more, and only some vendors say whether VAT is on top.

Published card rates, 1 October 2026. Powered Now (SumUp) and Gas Certificate App publish none.
SoftwareProviderStandard UK cardPremium UK cardVATPayout
TradifyTradify Credit Card Payments1.7% plus 20p2.1% plus 20pIncluded7 days for the first, then 3 days
ServiceM8ServiceM8 Pay (Stripe)1.70% plus 20p2.10% plus 20pNot statedNext business day
XeroStripe1.5% plus 20p1.9% plus 20pExcludedNot stated
CheckerStripe link (beta)1.5% plus 20p1.9% plus 20pNot statedNot stated
Gas Engineer SoftwareCrezco (pay by bank, not card)£1 per invoiceNot applicableNot statedNot stated

Comparing card readers rather than software? See the best card readers for gas engineers and how to take card payments as a gas engineer.

Which gas certificate apps include invoicing?

Gas Engineer Software, Gas Certificate App and Checker start from the certificate and add the invoice, the shortest route from a CP12 to a bill on the same visit.

Gas Engineer Software

Free trial
14 days, no card
Terms
Month to month, no contracts, cancel any time
Gas records
Gas and oil certificates, including CP12s and tightness test records

Stands out: One tap turns an accepted quote into an invoice, and the customer pays from their banking app with no card reader.

Worth knowing: Its FAQ and its price calculator give different figures for the invoicing plan, and neither says which is the yearly rate. The pages we read mention no card payments.

Gas Certificate App

Free trial
14 days, no card
Terms
Monthly or yearly, cancel any time
Gas records
Domestic, commercial, oil and renewable certificates

Stands out: An invoice can be created straight from a certificate or converted from a quote, with payment reminders and VAT worked out, all on its one price.

Worth knowing: The pages we read name no way for a customer to pay by card or link, and Xero gets an export rather than a live sync.

Checker

Free trial
30 days, no card
Terms
No contracts; monthly or yearly
Gas records
Gas records including CP12s, plus oil, electrical, F-Gas and renewables forms

Stands out: Finish the certificate and one tap copies its lines onto an invoice. Checker takes no commission on card payments.

Worth knowing: The price is per account, with extra users on the top plan only. Its pricing table says the cheapest plan has no accounts sync; its integrations page says every plan does.

Which job management apps invoice gas work?

Tradify, Powered Now and ServiceM8 run the diary, quotes and invoices for several trades, with card payments built in; gas certificates sit on their higher plans.

Tradify

Free trial
14 days, no card
Terms
Month to month, no contracts, cancel any time
Gas records
Gas and oil forms, including the Landlord/Homeowner Gas Safety Record, from its £37 plan

Stands out: Progress invoicing and quote and invoice reminders on its middle plan, bulk invoicing on the top one, and the choice to absorb the card fee or pass it on.

Worth knowing: Gas certificates are not on the cheapest plan. The first card payout arrives 7 days after payment, then 3 days after.

Powered Now

Free trial
14 days, no card
Terms
Rolling monthly or yearly, no minimum term, no cancellation fee
Gas records
Gas safety certificates, from its £32 per user plan

Stands out: Quotes and invoices can be prepared with no signal, SumUp pays out the next working day, and Making Tax Digital for Income Tax is on every plan.

Worth knowing: Certificates and the accounts sync are not on the single-user plan, so a gas engineer working alone pays the per-user price to get them.

ServiceM8

Free trial
14 days, no card
Terms
No lock-ins; change plan at any time
Gas records
Forms and certificates from its £59 plan; cheaper plans buy ready-made forms from its store

Stands out: Priced by jobs, not people, so a team shares one plan. Deposits on every plan, progress invoices from its £25 plan, and card payouts the next business day.

Worth knowing: No gas safety record is named on the pages we read, and its pay page does not say whether the card fees include VAT.

Can accounting software do the invoicing on its own?

Xero sends invoices and takes card payments, and it keeps the books Making Tax Digital needs, but it holds no jobs or certificates.

Xero

Free trial
30 days
Terms
Monthly, renewing until cancelled
Gas records
None: it is accounting software, not gas software

Stands out: Tap to Pay in its mobile app at 1.4% plus 20p, Pay by Bank at 0.5% plus 20p capped at £5, and its pricing page lists every plan as ready for Making Tax Digital for Income Tax.

Worth knowing: No jobs, certificates or renewal reminders, so it runs alongside a certificate app rather than replacing one. Its invoicing page calls MTD for Income Tax a beta.

Where does Manifold fit?

Manifold is a gas-only app that raises the invoice from the job the CP12 belongs to, priced per user with a 30 day free trial, and it is newer than everything above.

Manifold

Free trial
30 days, no card
Terms
Billed monthly; cancel any time and export your data at any time
Gas records
Landlord Gas Safety Records (CP12), warning notices, service records and commercial gas safety records

Stands out: The invoice comes out of the same job as the CP12. Bank transfers, cash and a letting agent's remittance are recorded against it, and each issued invoice and the payments against it go to your accounts package.

Worth knowing: Card payments are requested against a quote, as a deposit or the balance, rather than sent on the invoice itself. It's in early access, with no reviews and no App Store or Google Play listing, and it covers gas records only.

Details reflect each product as described on its own website on 1 October 2026. Prices and fees change, so check the vendor’s site before you decide. Choosing certificate software too? See the best gas certificate software. Gas safety work must be carried out by an appropriately Gas Safe registered engineer.

Common questions.

What is the best invoicing software for gas engineers?

It depends on how you work. If the certificate and the invoice come from the same visit, an app that does both saves re-keying: Gas Certificate App, Checker and Manifold raise the invoice from the certificate or the job. For a team running a diary and quotes across trades, Tradify, Powered Now and ServiceM8. Xero suits the accounts but holds no certificates. We build Manifold, so try any of them on your own jobs.

What does it cost to take a card payment on an invoice?

On 1 October 2026 the published standard UK card rates were 1.5% plus 20p through Stripe in Xero (plus VAT), 1.7% plus 20p with Tradify (VAT included) and 1.70% plus 20p with ServiceM8 Pay. Premium and business cards cost more. Gas Engineer Software takes payment by bank instead, at £1 per invoice.

Which apps turn a gas certificate into an invoice?

Gas Certificate App creates an invoice from a certificate, Checker copies the certificate's lines onto an invoice in one tap, and Manifold raises the invoice from the job the record belongs to. Gas Engineer Software converts an accepted quote into an invoice.

Can I just use Xero for invoicing as a gas engineer?

Yes for the invoice and the accounts: Xero sends invoices, takes card payments through Stripe and lists Making Tax Digital for Income Tax on every plan. It holds no CP12s, jobs or renewal reminders, so most gas engineers run it alongside a certificate app that syncs invoices into it.

How much does invoicing software for gas engineers cost?

Published prices on 1 October 2026 ran from free (ServiceM8, up to 30 jobs a month) and £10.99 a month per account (Checker, plus VAT) to £44 per user a month (Tradify's top plan). Gas-first apps with invoicing sat between about £20 and £25 per user a month. Manifold is £15, £20 or £25 per user a month plus VAT, with a 30 day free trial and no card.

One tool for the job and the invoice.

Manifold turns a finished gas job into a CP12 and an invoice, shows what is still owed once you record a payment, then chases the renewal. Start a free 30-day trial, no card.

Get early access